Part of the Body

Hi everyone!

I had a great time learning with you all last night 🙂 It was good to work together to accomplish the several different “tasks” we had to perform last night. Each of you brought an important component to our group.

As we talked last night, each of us are a part of The Body of Christ. Not His physical body, but the body that Paul was talking about in 1 Corinthians (the church). Each of you, when you become a Christ follower, become a valuable part of the Body and you have an essential role that needs to carried out.

I don’t know about you, but it’s pretty cool (and even a little weird) to think that God (Who can do all sorts of mind blowing miracles and can speak an entire universe into existence) needs me to do a job for Him. I mean, it’s really amazing! I know I’m only human. I know that I can’t ever be a perfect person, that I won’t always know what to say, and that I’m going to drop the ball sometimes. I know that sometimes I’m going to chicken out when God asks me to do something big, or that I will try and then fail sometimes. And I can imagine that you know the same things about yourselves. Yet, God needs and wants us to be a part of the Body so that we can carry out the mission that He has given us.

Wow! What an amazing God!

But that’s what He’s like.

He looks at us and sees the amazing qualities that He’s put into our lives rather than seeing all the things we do wrong. And when we are Christ followers, He sees us like He sees Jesus. He doesn’t see us as the limited, timid people that we are without Christ.

 

I am sure I’ve mentioned this before (and probably will again), but I want you to remember that you don’t have to wait until you’re an adult in order to be a vital part of the Body of Christ. It’s not just a “grown-up’s” job. Each of you has talents and gifts that God has given to you and they’re in your life right now. And, those gifts and talents are an important part of the Body. And what’s more, I see you guys living out your lives as a part of the Body each week 🙂

I see you all being parts of the Body in all kinds of ways. I see some of you leading other teens by teaching or instruction. I see some of you encouraging other teens through life’s difficulties. I see some of you teaching other teens about the Word of God and about Christ. And I see so many of you sharing your faith. I see each of you using talents that God has given to you (whether they are musical, creative, athletic or even social skills) to do tasks within the church and in the community. And, I see you caring for each other, being willing to support and be there for each other.

It’s really awesome to watch!!

As you go through this week, I hope that you will stop to think about the roles that you play as a part of the Body. Take some time to give thanks to God for giving you a part to play in His mission. And ask Him to help you to do your best at filling your role.

Posted on March 21, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment